Dorm-room dip

My roommate used to make the best buffalo chicken dip. I had never had any until I met her, because I grew up hating spicy foods, and I was a vegetarian for five years. I always had an excuse. Until I moved in with Allie and she encouraged me to try new things.

We would make dip on weekends when she stayed at the apartment. We would sit at the kitchen table and talk about our world-ending problems. “Did you see the way she looked at me today?” “I’ll pay you to take this test for me.” “I want to drop this 8:30 class.”

If it was exam week, sometimes we would study over dip. But we usually just ate.

I’ve now claimed this recipe as my own and take it to parties and events. I’ve never heard a complaint and I never have left-overs. But I never tell people that it’s adapted for a dorm room.

This means that I use canned chicken and heat it up in a microwave.

Over the summer with my dad, I mentioned that I was craving buffalo chicken dip and that I make the best dip at school. He immediately got the same craving and said that his wife also has a really good recipe.

Kelly came home with the ingredients and asked if I wanted to make the dip. “Uh, you probably don’t want me to make it. Mine is made for a dorm.”

My dad asked what that meant and I explained. He apparently thought that “for a dorm” meant that it needed alcohol. I’m still not sure what he thinks I do at school. But making alcoholic dip certainly isn’t it.

So I encourage you to steal this dorm-room recipe and impress your mom & dad. Or your friends.

 

 

Recipe:

  • 1 can of chicken, drained
  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup of ranch
  • 1 8oz package of cream cheese
  • 1 cup of Frank’s Redhot

Shred chicken with a fork and combine with softened cream cheese. Next add a cup of ranch, followed by hot sauce – the hot sauce will clean up any ranch left over in the measuring cup. Now add your cheese. The recipe calls for one cup, but we all know you’re going to want more.

Now, if you’re doing this dorm-style, heat it up in the microwave. Start with 5 minutes, then check. 5 more minutes, and check. Repeat until heated all the way through.

This should serve a small group of people, but I won’t judge if you eat half of it in one sitting. Enjoy!

One thought on “Dorm-room dip

  1. “My dad asked what that meant and I explained. He apparently thought that ‘for a dorm’ meant that it needed alcohol. I’m still not sure what he thinks I do at school. But making alcoholic dip certainly isn’t it.” Too funny. Your voice just pops, Brooke. Loving your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

